Kipsiro ready to chase third Commonwealth gold

Ian Walton/Getty Images

Uganda's Moses Kipsiro will be going all out to defend his 10,000m title at the 2018 Gold Coast Commonwealth Games in Australia this April, as he seeks a third consecutive gold in the event.

The experienced runner, who has been more involved in marathons of late, won in Delhi in 2010 and 2014 in Glasgow. In Delhi, he also won gold in the 5,000m race.

"It is always a good feeling going back to the Commonwealth Games where I have featured well in the past," Kipsiro told the media last weekend.

Dominic Otuchet, President of the Uganda Athletics Federation (UAF), told KweséESPN that he is excited to have Kipsiro on the team because experienced runners who are capable of winning medals inspire the younger athletes.

"It is a blessing that Kipsiro will be among the 23 Team Uganda athletes in Australia," Otuchet said.

Further good news for the Ugandan team is the availability of Solomon Munyo Mutai, who has recovered from injury in time for the Games. The 2015 World Championship bronze medalist had been out of action for over two months.

"Mutai run in a half marathon in Morocco last month and since his body was responding well, he declared he can now make the team since he had already qualified," Timothy Masaba, an administrator at the Federation, told KweséESPN.

However, 2012 London Olympics marathon winner Stephen Kiprotich will miss the Commonwealth Games again. He's opted to run the Hamburg Marathon, where he finished second last year. Kiprotich also missed the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow.

At the 2014 Games, Uganda's only gold medal was won by Kipsiro, while Abraham Kiplimo and Winnie Nanyondo picked up bronze medals in marathon and 800m races respectively.

Uganda's Athletics team

Shida Leni (400m), Halimah Nakaayi (800m), Scovia Ayikoru (400m), Winnie Nanyondo (1500m), Juliet Chekwel (10,000m), Dorcus Ajok (800m), Mercyline Chelangat (10,000m), Josephine Lalam (Javelin), Emily Nanziri (400m), Stella Chesang (10,000m)

Albert Chemutai (3000m steeplechase), Joshua Cheptegei (5000m/10,000m), Jacob Kiplimo (10,000m), Timothy Toroitich (10,000m), Robert Chemonges (Marathon), Alex Chesakit (Marathon), Solomon Munyo Mutai (Marathon), Philip Kipyeko (5000m), Ronald Musagala (1500m), Ali Ngaimoko (400m), Pius Adome (100m/200m), Leonard Opiny (400m), Moses Kipsiro (10,000m)