La Vuelta winner Chris Froome to race in Road World Championships

Vuelta a Espana winner Chris Froome will compete in the time trial at the Road World Championships in Norway next week, British Cycling has announced.

Froome, fresh from completing a rare Tour de France-Vuelta double in Madrid at the weekend, will not take part in the road race in Bergen.

But he will take one of Britain's two places in the time trial, with reigning British champion Steve Cummings getting the other.

The men's time trial in Bergen on Sept. 20 will be contested over a 31-kilometre course which features one significant climb up Mount Floyen at the finish.

Froome's main rivals are expected to be Giro d'Italia winner Tom Dumoulin of Holland and the reigning world time trial champion Tony Martin of Germany.

There is no space for Mark Cavendish in Britain's nine-man squad for the men's road race as he continues his recovery from the shoulder injury which ended his Tour de France in July, while Geraint Thomas is also absent after a testing season which saw him crash out of both the Giro d'Italia and Tour de France.

Instead, the team will feature two Olympic gold medallists on the track -- Owain Doull and Pete Kennaugh -- along with Adam Blythe, Mark Christian, Jon Dibben, Tao Geoghegan Hart, Ian Stannard, Ben Swift and Scott Thwaites.

Former world champion Lizzie Deignan is fit to lead the women's team following an appendectomy and will be supported by Hannah and Alice Barnes, Elinor Barker, Dani King, Mel Lowther and Hayley Simmonds.

British Cycling's head coach Iain Dyer said: "I'm delighted to see Chris Froome wishing to finish his season in Great Britain Cycling Team colours after another fantastic year for him and I'm looking forward to seeing him in action on a course which suits his strengths."

The World Championships take place from September 17 to 24 in Bergen.

Froome, who took bronze in the Olympic time trial in Rio last year, will also ride in the team time trial -- contested by trade teams -- for Team Sky.

Team Sky's line up for the team time trial also includes Geraint Thomas as well as former world time trial champion Vasil Kiryienka.