Tottenham's Harry Kane and Erik Lamela deny diving claims in penalty row

Tottenham duo Harry Kane and Erik Lamela have denied diving to win controversial late penalties in Sunday's 2-2 draw with Liverpool at Anfield.

Liverpool defender Virgil van Dijk accused Kane of diving over goalkeeper Loris Karius for the first spot kick, which the striker missed with the score at 1-1.

Substitute Lamela was then fouled by Van Dijk in the final minute of stoppage time, after Mohamed Salah's second goal had given Liverpool a 2-1 lead, and Kane equalised from the spot with his 100th Premier League goal.

"I think it is a dive. You see him diving clearly," Van Dijk said of Kane.

On Lamela, the Dutchman added: "I saw him coming in the end and I tried to hold my leg in, he just pulled his body in front of the ball and he goes down. That is also clearly not a penalty.''

But the Argentina winger hit back at Van Dijk after linesman Edward Smart had advised referee Jon Moss to award the last-minute penalty in front of the Kop end.

"He definitely caught me because it hurt afterwards," Lamela said. "Maybe he meant to play the ball and not catch me; I'd need to see it again on TV."

Karius has admitted he may have made contact with Kane for the first incident and, asked whether he had, the striker told reporters: "Yeah. He dived, he got in the way and I'm a player. It's football so I'm not going to jump out of the way. I definitely felt contact and I went down.

"With Lamela's, the linesman showed amazing character to give it because a lot happened involving him before the first penalty, so to give that one was massive."

Moss and Smart spent around three minutes discussing whether Kane was offside for the first penalty and footage on BBC's Match of the Day 2 picked-up part of their conversation.

Smart told Moss that if Liverpool's Dejan Lovren had touched Dele Alli's through-ball -- as he did -- then Kane was onside. Moss says he had "no idea" whether the defender touched the ball and then appears to ask Martin Atkinson, the fourth official, whether he has seen anything on TV.

Immediately afterwards, Moss says: "I am giving the penalty."

There was further controversy as Lamela appeared to be a fraction offside from Fernando Llorente's flick, while Salah was also in an offside position before his sublime second goal.

Emre Can was one of three players encroaching into the penalty area when Kane hit his first penalty, easily saved by Karius, and the Liverpool player helped to stop Lamela from connecting with the rebound.

Liverpool boss Jurgen Klopp said neither were penalties, while Spurs manager Mauricio Pochettino congratulated Moss on correctly making two "brave" decisions.