Wallabies return to Eden Park graveyard to face All Blacks

Phil Walter/Getty Images

The Wallabies face a return to their graveyard, Eden Park, as they attempt to win the Bledisloe Cup for the first time in 16 years.

The release of the Rugby Championship program, on Thursday, revealed the Wallabies would host the All Blacks in game one of the tournament, at ANZ Stadium in Sydney on August 18, before travelling to Auckland to play the following Saturday.

Australia haven't won at Auckland's Eden Park, New Zealand rugby's spiritual home, since 1986.

The Wallabies went within a minute of breaking a 16-year Test win drought in New Zealand last year, when the All Blacks won the equivalent Test 35-29, at Forsyth Barr Stadium in Dunedin, only after a last-gasp Beauden Barrett try.

The third Bledisloe Test in 2018 will be played in Tokyo on October 27.

South Africa, meanwhile, open their Rugby Championship campaign against Argentina at Kings Park in Durban on August 18.

The Springboks and the Pumas play the reverse fixture in Mendoza the following week.

South Africa then travel to Australia and New Zealand to play the Wallabies and All Blacks, in Brisbane and Wellington respectively.

The Springboks return home to round out their campaign with the reverse fixtures against Australia and New Zealand at Nelson Mandela Stadium and Loftus Versfeld respectively.

The Rugby Championship, which features a new venue -- Trafalgar Park, Nelson, which will host the New Zealand-Argentina Test -- concludes with the Pumas hosting Australia in Salta.

2018 Rugby Championship Program

August 18

Australia vs. New Zealand, ANZ Stadium, Sydney

South Africa vs. Argentina, Kings Park, Durban

August 25

New Zealand vs. Australia, Eden Park, Auckland

Argentina vs. South Africa, Estadio Malvinas Argentinas, Mendoza

September 8

New Zealand vs. Argentina, Trafalgar Park, Nelson

Australia vs. South Africa, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane

September 15

New Zealand vs. South Africa, Westpac Stadium, Wellington

Australia vs. Argentina, cBus Super Stadium, Gold Coast

September 29

South Africa vs. Australia, Nelson Mandela Stadium, Port Elizabeth

Argentina vs. New Zealand, Estadio Velez Sarsfield, Buenos Aires

October 6

South Africa vs. New Zealand, Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria

Argentina vs. Australia, Estadio Padre Ernesto Martearena, Salta