Post-Kolpak era - Olivier, Viljoen, Abbott, van Zyl and Harmer return to South African domestic set-up

Duanne Olivier gets into his delivery stride Getty Images

Duanne Olivier, Hardus Viljoen, Kyle Abbott, Simon Harmer and Stiaan van Zyl, who had all left the South Africa set-up with Kolpak deals, have returned to the country's Division 1 competition for the upcoming season.

All Kolpak registrations were cancelled at the end of 2020 following the end of the United Kingdom's transition period with the European Union, and meant that those playing county cricket on such deals were released from their terms and were eligible to represent South Africa again.

Earlier this year, Abbott became the first high-profile returnee to South African domestic cricket after signing a short-term deal with the Titans ahead of the One-Day Cup.

On Tuesday, the CSA announced the final squads of the eight top-tier provincial teams after the new domestic structure was finalised early last month by an independent committee. South Africa's revamped two-tiered domestic set-up, which eliminates the franchise model and reverts to the old provincial set-up, has come in place this (2021-2022) season, and in it, eight teams will make up the first tier - with 16 contracted players each - and seven teams will play in the second tier - with 11 contracted players each. Boland, Central Gauteng Lions, Eastern Province, Free State, KwaZulu-Natal (Coastal), North West, Northerns and Western Province are the eight teams that will compete in Division 1.

Meanwhile, big guns such as Hashim Amla, Vernon Philander and Wayne Parnell have all been named in the Western Province squad.

"This is an exciting time for everyone involved in South African cricket as we look ahead to a new era that will start in 2021/22," CSA acting chief executive officer Pholetsi Moseki said in a statement. "At initial glance, the squads all look extremely well balanced and that can only bode well for everyone as we anticipate a strengthened domestic cricket system."

Chris Morris, who has not been awarded a national contract, has signed with Northerns.

KwaZulu-Natal (Coastal): Marques Ackerman, Ottneil Baartman, Eathan Bosch, Ruan de Swardt, Daryn Dupavillon, Sarel Erwee, Thamsanqa Khumalo, Kerwin Mungroo, Lifa Ntanzi, Thando Ntini, Bryce Parsons, Keegan Petersen, Grant Roelofsen, Jason Smith, Prenelan Subrayen, Khaya Zondo, Andile Phehlukway (national contract), David Miller (national contract), Keshav Maharaj (national contract).

Central Gauteng Lions: Bjorn Fortuin, Wiaan Mulder, Lutho Sipamla, Kagiso Rapulana, Ryan Rickleton. Joshua Richards, Sisanda Magala, Dominic Hendricks, Tladi Bokako, Malusi Siboto, Duanne Olivier, Ruan Haasbroek, Tshepo Ntuli, Mitchell van Buuren, Codi Yusuf, Levert Manje, Kagiso Rabada (national contract), Rassie van der Dussen (national contract), Temba Bavuma (national contract), Reeza Hendricks (national contract).

Boland: Janneman Malan, Pieter Malan, Hardus Viljoen, Ismaeel Gafieldien, Ferisco Adams, Siyabonga Mahima, Christiaan Jonker, Ruan Terblanche, Imraan Manack, Shaun von Berg, Michael Copeland, Zakhele Qwabe, Clyde Fortuin, Achille Cloete, Stiaan van Zyl, Ziyaad Abrahams, Kyle Abbott.

North West: Delano Potgieter, Lesego Senokwane, Nicky van den Bergh, Senuran Muthusamy, Nono Pongolo, Eldred Hawken, Heino Kuhn, Lwandiswa Zuma, Shaylen Pillay, Wesley Marshall, Ndumiso Mvelase, Eben Botha, Johannes Diseko, Duan Jansen, Chad Classen, Jason Oakes, Dwaine Pretorius (national contract).

Eastern Province: Matthew Breetzke, Wihan Lubbe, Sinethemba Qeshile, Jon-Jon Smuts, Eddie Moore, Marco Jansen, Glenton Stuurman, Rudi Second, Akhona Mnyaka, Lesiba Ngoepe, Diego Rosier, Tristan Stubbs, Dane Paterson, Kabelo Sekhukhune, Mthiwekhaya Nabe, Tsepo Ndwandwa, Anrich Nortje (national contract).

Northerns: Lizaad Williams, Okhule Cele, Theunis de Bruyn, Dayyaan Galiem, Gihahn Cloete, Junior Dala, Neil Brand, Sibonelo Makhanya, Corbin Bosch, Aaron Phangiso, Chris Morris, Dewald Brevis, Ayabulela Gqamane, Jiveshen Pillay, Grant Mokoena, Simon Harmer, Aiden Markram (national contract), Lungi Ngidi (national contract), Quinton de Kock (national contract), Tabraiz Shamsi (national contract), Dean Elgar (national contract), Heinrich Klaasen (national contract).

Free State: Mbulelo Budaza, Gerald Coetzee, Patrick Kruger, Wandile Makwetu, Migael Pretorius, Jacques Snyman, Pite van Biljon, Raynard van Tonder, Farhaan Behardien, Patrick Botha, Matthew Kleinveldt, Gregory Mohlokwana, Mangaliso Mosehle, Alfred Mothoa, Dilivio Ridgaard, Nealan van Heerden.

Western Province: Zubayr Hamza, Kyle Verreynne, George Linde, Tony De Zorzi, Nandre Burger, Yaseen Vallie, Kyle Simmonds, Jonathan Bird, Hashim Amla, Mihlali Mpongwana, Tshepo Moreki, David Bedingham, Aviwe Mgijima, Vernon Philander, Basheer Walters, Wayne Parnell, Beuran Hendricks (national contract).