Comilla Victorians owners to stay on till BPL 2025

Comilla Victorians celebrate their third BPL title AFP/Getty Images

The owners of Comilla Victorians will stick around to see their team defend the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) title next year. Last month, there were reports that Comilla Legends Ltd had failed to submit Expression of Interest (EOI) papers, but in an announcement on Sunday, the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) confirmed that the Victorians will remain part of the BPL until 2025.

The tournament, which had shrunk to six teams last year, has expanded back to its usual seven now and there is a new owner in the mix. A company called Future Sports Bangladesh Ltd took over the Sylhet team. There is a high-profile returnee as well with Bashundhara Group reacquiring the Rangpur franchise.

Fortune Barishal Sports Ltd kept hold of the Barishal team. Mindtree did the same with Khulna Tigers. Progoti Green Auto Rice Mills Ltd, who owned Sylhet last season, have taken on the Dhaka franchise this time. Minister Group had sponsored the side from the capital in 2022 after the BCB dismissed the original owners. Delta Sports Ltd retained control of the Chattogram franchise.

This means that five of the owners who were involved with BPL 8 earlier this year will stay on for BPL 9, 10 and 11.

"After detailed evaluation and assessment of the EOI documents submitted by prospective owners, the BPL (Bangladesh Premier League) T20 governing council has invited the parties to complete the process of securing franchise ownership rights for the next three editions of the tournament," the BCB said in a press release.

The BPL closed their Expression of Interest process on August 30 and spent four weeks vetting the submissions of these seven owners. This has set them back a bit in relation to the two other T20 competitions taking place in in the same January-February window. The UAE-based ILT20 has filled its team rosters, while the SA20, South Africa's newest T20 tournament, held its player auction last week.