Sydney FC's Milos Ninkovic takes crown as A-League Player of Year

Milos Ninkovic was awarded the Johnny Warren Medal as all-conquering Sydney FC dominated the 2016-17 A-League awards.

Ninkovic took the competition's highest individual honour at the Dolan Warren Awards in Sydney on Monday, while Perth and Matildas star Sam Kerr claimed the W-League's Julie Dolan Medal.

The 32-year-old playmaker racked up 44 points for the season, with each of the 135 regular-season matches voted on by a panel made up of former professional players, coaching experts, match officials and members of the media.

He outscored Perth's reigning Johnny Warren Medallist Diego Castro (37 points), Western Sydney's Nico Martinez (29 points), Melbourne Victory's James Troisi (27 points) and Wellington's Kosta Barbarouses (22 points).

Ninkovic has been the driving force behind the Sky Blues' record-breaking premiership campaign, with nine goals and 11 assists in his second A-League season.

And days before Sydney host Victory in Sunday's grand final, Graham Arnold was voted by his peers as coach of the year, an acknowledgement of the 53-year-old's shrewd recruitment and nurturing of an inclusive, winning culture.

Unsurprisingly, A-League veteran Danny Vukovic took goalkeeper of the year for his 16 clean sheets -- twice that of the next-best candidate, Victory's Lawrence Thomas. Victory striker Besart Berisha and Brisbane marksman Jamie Maclaren shared the Golden Boot with 19 goals apiece, while Maclaren was named A-League young footballer of the year for a second straight season.

Australia veteran Tim Cahill took the goal of the year award for the preposterous 35-metre strike that caused the round-two Melbourne derby to make global headlines.

Meanwhile, Glory's Bobby Despotovski was named W-League coach of the year and Sydney's Remy Siemsen the young footballer of the year.

A-League awards:

Johnny Warren Medal (player of the year): Milos Ninkovic (Sydney FC)

Young footballer of the year: Jamie Maclaren (Brisbane Roar)

Coach of the year: Graham Arnold (Sydney FC)

Golden Boot: Besart Berisha (Melbourne Victory, 19 goals), Jamie Maclaren (Brisbane Roar, 19 goals)

Goal of the year: Tim Cahill (Melbourne City, round 2)

Goalkeeper of the year: Danny Vukovic (Sydney FC)

Fair play award: Central Coast Mariners

Referee of the year: Jarred Gillett

Community Champion award: Melbourne Victory

W-League awards

Julie Dolan Medal (player of the year): Sam Kerr (Perth Glory)

Young footballer of the year: Remy Siemsen (Sydney FC)

Coach of the year: Bobby Despotovski (Perth Glory)

Golden Boot: Ashleigh Sykes (Canberra United, 12 goals)

Goal of the year: Sam Kerr (Perth Glory, round 6)

Goalkeeper of the year: Lydia Williams (Melbourne City)

Fair play award: Adelaide United

Referee of the year: Kate Jacewicz