FFA Cup: Fowler to make coaching debut vs. Sydney FC

The first competitive match of Robbie Fowler's Brisbane Roar reign will be an FFA Cup clash away at A-League champions Sydney FC.

The Liverpool legend, who is embarking on the first full-time head coaching role of his storied career, will take the Roar to face Steve Corica's Sky Blues in a round-of-32 clash after the pair were drawn together on Wednesday.

It will be Fowler's first big challenge at the helm of the new-look Roar who have shipped out 16 players following their disastrous 2018-19 A-League campaign.

In other clashes between two A-League sides, Perth Glory will host Western Sydney Wanderers and the Newcastle Jets head to Melbourne Victory.

- Brisbane Roar loan O'Neill from Burnley
- Mombaerts appointed new Melbourne City boss
- Jukic: What the A-League must do in the offseason

Defending champions Adelaide United have been drawn against former NSL club Melbourne Knights in one of the four clashes between A-League clubs and lower-tier opponents.

Maitland FC and Campbelltown City -- both making their first appearance at this stage of the competition -- will both host A-League opponents.

Campbelltown will welcome Melbourne City while Alen Stajcic's Central Coast Mariners will make a short trip the northern NSW-based Maitland.

Ex-NSL club Brisbane Strikers are the other lower-tier club to draw an A-League side and will host Wellington Phoenix.

Queensland amateurs Coomera Colts will travel to the Whitsundays to face Queensland NPL team Magpies Crusaders FC in one of eight ties between lower-tier clubs.

Both teams are playing in the round of 32 for the first time.

Other clubs making their debut in this stage of the competition include Adelaide Olympic, FC Bulleen Lions, Moreland Zebras, Mount Druitt Town Rangers, St George FC and Canberra-based Tigers FC.

The 16 matches will be held over three weeks across three match nights (either Tuesdays or Wednesdays), with between four to six matches per night beginning in the week of July 23.

Full FFA Cup round of 32 fixture:

Sydney FC vs. Brisbane Roar
Perth Glory vs. Western Sydney Wanderers
Melbourne Victory vs. Newcastle Jets
Tigers FC vs. Hume City
South Hobart vs. Marconi Stallions
Adelaide Olympic vs. Floreat Athena
Magpies Crusaders FC vs. Coomera Colts
Olympic FC vs. Bayswater City
St George vs. Sydney United
Darwin Olympic vs. Edgemouth Eagles
FC Bulleen Lions vs. Moreland Zebras
Mt Druitt Town Rangers vs. Manly United
Maitland FC vs. Central Coast Mariners
Melbourne Knights vs. Adelaide United
Campbelltown City vs. Melbourne City
Brisbane Strikers vs. Wellington Phoenix