Olyroos relying on A-League stars to beat N.Z.

The newly independent A-League has contributed all but one of the 24 players selected for Australia's upcoming under-23 internationals against New Zealand.

The matches in Wollongong on Sept. 6 and Campbelltown on Sept. 9 are vital ahead of the Olyroos' Olympic Games qualification tournament in Thailand in January.

Australia haven't featured at an Olympic men's soccer tournament since the Beijing Games in 2008 and the cooperation of A-League clubs in making players available will be crucial to the Olyroos' hopes.

- Netball great Ellis joins review of FFA management
- Austrian midfielder Dobras joins Melbourne Victory
- Muscat 'happy to wait' for next opportunity

Of those selected to face New Zealand, five are from Melbourne City including Connor Metcalfe, who is one of two players set to make their under-23 debut if they get on the pitch along with Western Sydney's Tate Russell.

A-League expansion club Western United along with Adelaide United and the Wanderers all have three players selected.

The only overseas-based player in the squad is Socceroo Alex Gersbach, who has been allowed to travel by Danish Superliga club AGF.

The team will be overseen for the two matches by Young Socceroos coach Gary van Egmond in place of Socceroos coach Graham Arnold, who will take over the reins for the qualifying tournament in January.

To earn a spot at Tokyo 2020, Australia will have to be one of the top three teams at the Asian under-23 championship with host nation Japan already qualified.

Full Olyroos squad:

Goalkeepers: Tom Glover, Tom Heward-Belle, Daniel Margush

Defenders: Thomas Deng, Alex Gersbach, Tass Mourdoukoutas, Connor O'Toole, Kye Rowles, Tate Russell, Ivan Vujica

Midfielders: Nathaniel Atkinson, Keanu Baccus, Daniel De Silva, Denis Genreau, Riley McGree, Connor Metcalfe, Aiden O'Neill, Sebastian Pasquali, Lachlan Wales

Forwards: George Blackwood, Lachlan Brook, Nick D'Agostino, Apostolos Stamatelopoulos, Brandon Wilson