Belgium squad; Christian Benteke returns, Shaun Maloney joins staff

Roberto Martinez has revealed his Belgium squad ahead of their UEFA Nations League campaign, and Christian Benteke has received a recall.

Manchester City's Kevin De Bruyne and Real Sociedad's Adnan Januzaj are the only members of the World Cup squad to drop out due to injury.

Strasbourg goalkeeper Matz Sels, once of Newcastle, has also been recalled, while there are first call-ups for Atalanta's Timothy Castagne, Club Brugge's Hans Vanaken, Gent midfielder Birger Verstraete and Genk forward Leandro Trossard.

"Vanaken is consistently performing with Brugge and deserves his place in the squad," Martinez said. "Trossard is also very consistent and represents the good times that Genk are having.

"Timothy Castagne can play on the left, the right or in central defence. He has done very well with our under-21 team.

"Whenever we watched Verstraete, he always caught our attention. He is doing really well and we need that type of player."

Thierry Henry will link up with the squad again as a coach after he was linked with the managerial role at Bordeaux, while Shaun Maloney, who played under Martinez at Wigan, will join the backroom staff after Graeme Jones departed for West Brom.

Goalkeepers: Koen Casteels (Wolfsburg), Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid), Simon Mignolet (Liverpool), Matz Sels (Strasbourg)

Defenders: Toby Alderweireld (Tottenham), Dedryck Boyata (Celtic), Leander Dendoncker (Wolves), Vincent Kompany (Manchester City), Thomas Vermaelen (Barcelona), Jan Vertonghen (Tottenham)

Midfielders: Yannick Carrasco (Dalian Yifang), Timothy Castagne (Atalanta), Nacer Chadli (Monaco), Mousa Dembele (Tottenham), Marouane Fellaini (Manchester United), Thomas Meunier (Paris Saint-Germain), Youri Tielemans (Bayern Munich), Hans Vanaken (Club Brugge), Birger Verstraete (Gent), Axel Witsel (Borussia Dortmund)

Forwards: Michy Batshuayi (Valencia), Christian Benteke (Crystal Palace), Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Thorgan Hazard (Borussia Monchengladbach), Romelu Lukaku (Manchester United), Dries Mertens (Napoli), Leandro Trossard (Genk)