Ghana call up Bristol City striker Antoine Semenyo

Antoine Semenyo is one of three new faces in Ghana's squad. Harry Trump/Getty Images

London-born Antoine Semenyo has been called up to Ghana's squad for the first time for four internationals next month, giving him the chance to potentially earn a place in their World Cup selection later in the year.

The 22-year-old Bristol City striker is of Ghanaian descent and one of three newcomers in an expansive 34-man squad, named by the Ghana Football Association on Thursday.

They will play two Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifiers before going on to Japan to take part in the four-nations Kirin Cup tournament.

Coach Otto Addo, who is assisted by former Brighton and Hove Albion manager Chris Hughton, also selected centre back Alidu Seidu from Ligue 1 club Clermont Foot and winger Augustine Okrah from Bechem United.

Ghana take on Madagascar at Cape Coast in their opening Cup of Nations Group E qualifier on June 1 , followed by an away fixture against the Central African Republic on June 5. The match is being played in Luanda, Angola.

The Ghanaians then take on Japan in Kobe on June 10 and either Chile or Tunisia in Osaka on June 14.

At the World Cup in Qatar in November, Ghana have been drawn in Group H with Portugal, South Korea and Uruguay.

Ghana squad

Goalkeepers: Lawrence Ati Zigi (St. Gallen), Abdul Manaf Nurudeen (Eupen), Richard Ofori (Orlando Pirates), Joe Wollacott (Swindon Town).

Defenders: Joseph Aidoo (Celta Vigo), Daniel Amartey (Leicester City), Gideon Mensah (Girondins Bordeaux), Jonathan Mensah (Columbus Crew), Khalid Abdul Mumin (Vitoria Guimaraes), Denis Odoi (Club Brugge), Baba Abdul Rahman (Reading), Alidu Seidu (Clermont Foot), Andy Yiadom (Reading).

Midfielders: Edmund Addo (Sheriff Tiraspol), Christopher Antwi-Adjei (VfL Bochum), Dede Ayew (Al Sadd), Iddrisu Baba (Mallorca), Osman Bukari (Nantes), Abdul Fatawu Issahaku (Sporting Lisbon), Mohammed Kudus (Ajax Amsterdam), Joseph Paintsil (Racing Genk), Elisha Owusu (Gent), Kamaldeen Suleymana (Stade Rennes), Yaw Yeboah (Columbus Crew), Mubarak Wakaso (Shenzhen FC).

Forwards: Felix Afena Gyan (AS Roma), Daniel Afriyie (Hearts of Oak), Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace), Daniel Kofi Kyere (St. Pauli), Braydon Manu (SV Darmstadt), Augustine Okrah (Bechem United), Kwesi Okyere Wriedt (Holstien Kiel), Antoine Semenyo (Bristol City), Benjamin Tetteh (Yeni Malatyaspor).