Mohd Rafi and other great numbers from ISL 2016


Drawn games involving Atletico de Kolkata this season, including the final. They have beaten their own record for most games drawn by a team in one season - nine, set in 2014. In both years, they would go on to lift the ISL trophy.


Mohammed Rafi became the third Indian to score a goal in the ISL final, following Mohammed Rafique for Atletico de Kolkata in 2014, and Thongkhosiem Haokip for FC Goa last year. Only Rafique saw his team go on to win the final.


Percentage of all ISL playoff matches that have been drawn (four), which have involved Atletico de Kolkata. They are also the only team to maintain an unbeaten record in penalty shootouts in ISL history, with Kerala Blasters having lost their first shootout in two attempts. Delhi Dynamos and FC Goa are the only teams to have lost the only shootout they featured in.


Goals scored by Indians in this edition of the Indian Super League, scored by 21 different scorers. The number of goals by Indians wasn't as good as 2015 (48) but an improvement over the 28 goals by Indian players in 2014.


The total number of goals scored in ISL history after three seasons. Over forty per cent of those goals (186) came in the second season alone, while the 145 scored in 2016 is ahead of 2014 by 16 goals.


The number of matches lost by Atletico de Kolkata is a new record for the fewest games lost by a team in a single season. The previous mark of three games also belonged to them, and they achieved it the last time they won the title in 2014.


Henrique Sereno became the 65th different goal scorer of ISL 2016, with his equaliser in regulation time. The scoring came from 26 unique nationalities, with Sereno becoming the second player from Portugal after teammate Helder Postiga to score an ISL goal this season.


The total number of goals scored by Kerala Blasters, the second-lowest for runners-up in an ISL season. Kerala continue to hold the record for the lowest ever, with just 13 goals scored through the entire 2014 season, when they had previously finished second-best behind Atletico de Kolkata. FC Goa still hold the record for most goals by a team in a season, as they scored 34 goals but had to be satisfied with the runners-up trophy last season.


Successive matches that Kerala Blasters now have behind them without losing at the Nehru Stadium, their 'Fortress Kochi'. The last team to beat them, ironically enough, were Atletico de Kolkata in their opening home game of the 2016 season on October 5. Since then they drew 0-0 with Delhi Dynamos, won six matches on the trot to set a new ISL record for successive home wins, and finished with a draw in the final, only to lose on penalties against Atletico de Kolkata.