Spurs' Victor Wanyama in Kenya's Afcon qualifier squad

Victor Wanyama missed four months of the 2017-18 season with a knee injury. Tottenham Hotspur FC/Tottenham Hotspur FC via Getty Images

Kenya head coach Sebastien Migné has named Tottenham Hotspur's Victor Wanyama in a 38-man squad that will prepare for a 2019 Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) qualifier against Ghana on September 8th.

Wanyama, who has not appeared for Spurs this season, was forced off the field in a pre-season match against Barcelona in what turned out to be a recurrence of the knee injury that saw him miss a third of last season.

But Migne feels comfortable adding the still-injured midfielder to the extended squad, which also features Wanyama's brother, McDonald Mariga of Real Oviedo in Spain.

The Harambee Stars lost their opening Group F tie 2-1 away to Sierra Leone. Ghana started their campaign with a 5-0 thrashing of Ethiopia.

"The game against Ghana is an important game for us in this campaign since we lost the first game. We need to give the team all the necessary support so that they prepare well," Nick Mwendwa, President of the Football Kenya Federation (FKF), told KweséESPN.

According to the FKF, the home-based players will report to camp on September 2, while the overseas professionals arrive the next day.

Full Squad:


Ian Otieno (Red Arrows, Zambia), Patrick Matasi (Tusker), Boniface Oluoch (Gor Mahia), Brian Bwire (Kariobangi Sharks), Farouk Shikalo (Bandari)


Brian Mandela (Maritzburg, South Africa), David Owino (Zesco, Zambia), Joseph Okumu (AFC Ann Arbor, USA), Musa Mohammed (Nkana FC, Zambia), Erick Ouma (Vasalund, Sweden), David Ochieng (IF Brommapojkarna, Sweden), Abud Omar (Cercle Brugge, Belgium), Philemon Otieno (Gor Mahia), Jockins Atudo (Posta Rangers), Dennis Odhiambo (Sofapaka), Joash Onyango (Gor Mahia) Benard Ochieng (Vihiga United)


Victor Wanyama (Tottenham Hotspur, England), Mc Donald Mariga (Real Oviedo, Spain), Clifton Miheso (Buildcon FC, Zambia), Paul Were (FC Kaisar, Kazakhstan), Ismael Gonzales (CF Fuenlabrada, Spain), Eric Johanna (IF Brommapojkarna, Sweden), Johanna Omollo (Cercle Brugge, Belgium), Anthony Akumu (Zesco, Zambia), Whyvonne Isuza (AFC Leopards), Francis Kahata (Gor Mahia), George Odhiambo (Gor Mahia), Duncan Otieno (AFC Leopards), Samuel Onyango (Gor Mahia)


Michael Olunga (Kashiwa Reysol, Japan), Ovella Ochieng (Vasalund, Sweden), Jesse Were (Zesco, Zambia), Masud Juma (Un-attached), Cliff Nyakeya (Mathare United), Abdallah Hassan (Bandari), Piston Mutamba (Sofapaka), Allan Wanga (Kakamega Homeboyz)