Phakamani Mahlambi, Dino Ndlovu back in Bafana Bafana fold

Bafana international Phakamani Mahlambi joined Al Ahly in 2017 Samuel Shivambu/BackpagePix

South Africa coach Stuart Baxter has named his squad to face Burkina Faso in a must-win 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifier on October 7.

Qarabag striker Dino Ndlovu is back after impressing in Azerbaijan, as is Phakamani Malambi, who has had a fine start to life at Egyptian giants Al-Ahly.

There is also a first call-up for Bidvest Wits defender Reeve Frosler, but Bafana Bafana will be without the suspended Dean Furman.

Kaizer Chiefs defender Erick Mathoho is included in the squad despite being shown red in the away match against Cape Verde Islands, with FIFA reviewing the decision next Thursday.

South Africa are in dire straits in Group D, sitting bottom after successive defeats to Cape Verde and FIFA's decision to replay the fixed match against Senegal -- a verdict since challenged by Burkina Faso.


Goalkeepers: Itumeleng Khune, Ronwen Williams, Wayne Sandilands

Defenders: Thamsanqa Mkhize, Clayton Daniels, Thulani Hlatshwayo, Rick Mathoho, Morgan Gould, Reeve Frosler, Tebogo Langerman, Sifiso Hlanti

Midfielders: Hlompho Kekana, Keagan Dolly, Bongani Zungu, Andile Jali, Kamohelo Mokotjo, Sibusiso Vilakazi, Themba Zwane, Phakamani Mahlambi, Lebohang Manyama, Thulani Serero

Strikers: Percy Tau, Lebo Mothiba, Bradley Grobler, Dino Ndlovu