IWL: Gokulam Kerala crowned champions after beating Sethu FC

Gokulam Kerala became champions of the Indian Women’s League for the second successive time. AIFF

Gokulam Kerala became champions of the Indian Women's League for the second successive time after beating Sethu FC 3-1 on the final day of the tournament at the Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar.

Both teams met on Thursday having won all their ten matches in the league so they needed a victory to seal the title.

Sethu FC took the lead in just the third minute of the game after Anju Tamang's powerful strike deflected off a defender and onto the head of Renu Rani. The forward made no mistake in slotting the ball home from close range.

It didn't take long for Gokulam Kerala to equalise as they made it 1-1 in the 14th minute. Loitongbam Ashalata Devi scored from the spot with a cool-headed finish after Elshaddai Acheampong drew a foul inside the box.

Acheampong made it 2-1 for the defending champions in the 33rd minute. She capitalised on an error in the Sethu defence and tapped the ball in to score her 20th goal of the campaign.

In-form striker Manisha Kalyan made it 3-1 for Gokulam in the 40th minute after a cross from the left flank caught the Sethu defence by surprise.

The two sides shared equal percentage of ball possession in the first-half but it was Gokulam Kerala who dominated in terms of attacking threat. They went on to replicate their performance in the next 45 minutes.

Sethu FC created chances in the second-half but could not increase their goal tally.

Having won all their matches, Gokulam Kerala accumulated 33 points to clinch the title. They scored 66 goals while conceding only four. Meanwhile, Sethu FC netted 42 goals in 11 matches and conceded only six goals.

Kickstart FC from Karanataka finished third with 27 points while Sports Odisha took the fourth spot with 20 points.

End of season awards

Highest goal-scorer - Elshaddai Acheampong (Gokulam Kerala FC, 20 goals).

Best Goalkeeper - Maibam Linthoingambi Devi (Kickstart FC).

Best Defender - Loitongbam Ashalata Devi (Gokulam Kerala FC).

Best Emerging Player - Naorem Priyangka Devi (Indian Arrows).

Hero of the League - Manisha Kalyan (Gokulam Kerala FC).