Rainford Kalaba headlines Zambia returnees for Namibia clash

Rainford Kalaba AP Photo/Eugene Hoshiko

New Zambia coach Sven Vandenbroeck has opted to recall a number of the Chipolopolo's biggest stars for their 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Namibia next month.

The list of returnees is headlined by former skipper Rainford Kalaba, who comes back to the fold along with Kabaso Chongo and Nathan Sinkala, both of whom were also overlooked by Vandenbroeck's predecessor Wedson Nyirenda.

Tout Puissant Mazembe duo Kalaba and Sinkala were part of the Zambia squad that won the 2012 AFCON in Gabon, defeating the Ivory Coast 8-7 on penalties in the final.

Lazarous Kambole, one of Nyirenda's key players during the African Nations Championship, has been handed a call-up after impressing for ZESCO United in recent weeks, although there's no place for Alex Ngonga.

One-time wonderkid Emmanuel Mbola of Hapoel Ra'anana also makes his return, although there's no place for another full-back - Fackson Kapumbu.

38-year-old Vandenbroeck was appointed as Nyirenda's successor in July, and will be charged with picking up the Chipolopolo after their failure to qualify for the World Cup and an underwhelming start to their AFCON qualifying campaign.

Zambia were defeated 1-0 at home by Mozambique in June, with Os Mambas set to host Guinea-Bissau in their second group game on September 7.

Full Zambia squad vs. Namibia

Goalkeepers: Toaster Nsabata (Zanaco), Lawrence Mulenga (Power Dynamos), Kennedy Mweene (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa)

Defenders: Solomon Sakala (Zesco United), Gideon Sichone (Green Buffaloes), Gampani Lungu (Supersport, South Africa), Isaac Shamujompa (Buildcon), Luka Banda (Napsa Stars), Stoppila Sunzu (FC Metz, France), Kabaso Chongo (TP Mazembe, DR Congo), Lawrence Chungu (Buildcon), Emmanuel Mbola (Hapoel Ra'anana, Israel)

Midfielders: Nathan Sinkala (TP Mazembe, DR Congo), Sululani Phiri (Polokwane, South Africa), Enock Mwepu (RB Salzburg, Austria), Jackson Chirwa (Green Buffaloes), Lubambo Musonda (Gangzasar Kapan, Armenia), Clatous Chama (Simba SC, Tanzania), Spencer Sautu (Green Eagles), Rainford Kalaba (TP Mazembe, DR Congo), Bruce Musakanya (Red Arrows)

Strikers: Augustine Mulenga (Orlando Pirates, South Africa), Fashion Sakala (Oostende, Belgium), Justin Shonga (Orlando Pirates, South Africa), Patson Daka (RB Salzburg, Austria), Lazarous Kambole (Zesco)