Patriot tourneys expand to 10 teams

CENTER VALLEY, Pa. -- The Patriot League men's and women's basketball tournaments will expand to 10 teams next season to account for the additions of Loyola (Md.) and Boston University.

The Greyhounds and Terriers officially join the conference July 1. The expansion means all league schools will participate in the conference's postseason tournament, as was the case in the previous eight-team setup.

All tournament games again will be played on home sites for higher seeds. The new first round would feature the 10th seed at the seventh seed, and the ninth seed at the eighth seed.

The quarterfinals then would be hosted by the top four seeds.

The Patriot League also announced Wednesday that its postseason soccer and lacrosse tournaments will expand to six teams.