Simon Zebo and Paddy Jackson return for Ireland against Japan

Paddy Jackson returns for Ireland against Japan. Brendan Moran/Sportsfile via Getty Images

Ireland coach Joe Schmidt has made six changes to his starting side that thrashed the USA for the second Test of their summer tour against Japan in Shizuoka on Saturday.

Ulster fly-half Paddy Jackson slots in at No. 10 after Joey Carbery returned home with injury, while Simon Zebo returns to the starting fold at fullback.

Andrew Conway, Rory Scannell, Luke McGrath and Dan Leavy all come in for their first starts for Ireland with Kieran Treadwell and Rory O'Loughlin in line to make their debuts from the bench.

Rhys Ruddock captains the side for the second time.

Japan, meanwhile, have a sprinkling of Super Rugby firepower to call upon for Saturday's encounter.

Chiefs loose forward Michael Leitch captains the side in a formidable back-row including Melbourne Rebels No. 8 Amanaki Mafi and Sunwolves openside Yoshitaka Tokunaga.

Ireland: Zebo, Conway, Ringrose, R. Scannell, Earls, Jackson, McGrath; Healy, N. Scannell, Ryan, Roux, Toner, Ruddock (capt), Leavy, Conan.

Replacements: Tracy, Kilcoyne, Bealham, Treadwell, O'Donoghue, Marmion, O'Loughlin, O'Halloran.

Japan: Noguchi, Matshima, Tupou, Lafaele, Fukuoka, Tamura, Tanaka; Inagaki, Horie, Ito, Yatabe, Helu, Leitch (capt), Tokunaga, Mafi.

Replacements: Niwai, Ishihara, Asahara, Tui, Matsuhashi, Nagare, Carpenter, Matsuda.