Klaasen, Jonker, Dala named in South Africa's T20I squad

Heinrich Klaasen struck some lusty blows AFP

Christiaan Jonker, Junior Dala and Heinrich Klaasen are the three new faces in South Africa's squad for the three-match T20I series against India, which begins in Johannesburg on February 18. JP Duminy will lead the side in the absence of Faf du Plessis, who continues his recovery from a finger fracture that has kept him out since the first ODI on February 1.

With the Test series against Australia starting five days after the third and final T20I, South Africa have chosen to rest a number of players including Aiden Markram, Hashim Amla and the frontline Test-match fast bowlers. Imran Tahir, South Africa's first-choice white-ball legspinner, has also been rested, with CSA selection panel convener Linda Zondi saying the selectors wanted to give Tabraiz Shamsi and Aaron Phangiso more of an opportunity to test their squad options.

Warriors batsman Jonker and Titans fast bowler Dala are yet to play for South Africa. Wicketkeeper-batsman Klaasen is yet to play T20Is, but made his international debut during the ongoing ODI series against India.

The selectors have also named a South Africa A squad that will take on the touring Australians in a three-day warm-up match from February 22 to 24, and have named Khaya Zondo captain. Test caps Theunis de Bruyn, who scored 190 in the most recent round of first-class matches, and Duanne Olivier remain in the national frame and are also part of the side for the warm-up game.

South Africa T20I squad: JP Duminy (capt), Farhaan Behardien, Junior Dala, AB de Villiers, Reeza Hendricks, Christiaan Jonker, Heinrich Klaasen (wk), David Miller, Chris Morris, Dane Paterson, Aaron Phangiso, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Jon-Jon Smuts.

South Africa A squad for tour match against Australia: Khaya Zondo (capt), Theunis de Bruyn, Zubayr Hamza, Beuran Hendricks, Pieter Malan, Wiaan Mulder, Senuran Muthusamy, Duanne Olivier, Rudi Second, Malusi Siboto, Shaun von Berg.