2023 Rugby World Cup: How Wednesday's vote will work

World Rugby chairman Bill Beaumont, second right, will announce the winning bid Wednesday afternoon. TOSHIFUMI KITAMURA/AFP/Getty Images

The wait is almost over for France, Ireland and South Africa as World Rugby prepares to anoint the 2023 Rugby World Cup host.

South Africa's bid received the recommendation of the World Cup board's report, but that does not mean they are guaranteed to win the World Rugby council vote.

So, how does the voting work? ESPN explains all...

What is the World Rugby Council?

The World Rugby council consists of 32 members and is headed up by chairman Bill Beaumont. Argentina, Australia, England, France, Ireland, Italy, New Zealand, Scotland, South Africa and Wales all have two delegates. 2019 World Cup hosts Japan has one delegate.

Canada, Georgia, Romania, the U.S. and the six regional associations are also all represented by one delegate.

How are the votes shared between the council members?

The 10 Tier 1 nations all have three votes shared between their two delegates, while as the next tournament host Japan's delegate has two votes.

Delegates representing the six regional associations also each have two votes, while the members from Canada, Georgia, Romania and the U.S. all have a single vote.

Members from bidding countries are not permitted to vote meaning the 2023 World Cup bid will be decided by 26 delegates with a total of 39 votes.

How many votes does the successful bid need to win?

The successful bid team will need to secure 20 votes [more than 50 percent of those on offer] to win the right to host the 2023 World Cup.

If no team has secured that number of votes following the first round of voting then the nation with fewest votes will drop out to leave a two-horse race.

The winner of the second vote would, in that instance, automatically win the right to stage the tournament.

An announcement is expected at 1 p.m. GMT in London Wednesday.