Player of the Match
Player of the Match

Jaiswal and Abhimanyu hit centuries as India A dominate

Yashasvi Jaiswal hit 21 boundaries in his 145-run knock Bangladesh Cricket Board

Stumps Bangladesh A 112 trail India A 404 for 5 (Jaiswal 145, Abhimanyu 142, Taijul 3-148, Khaled 2-71) by 292 runs

Yashasvi Jaiswal and Abhimanyu Easwaran struck centuries as India A dominated the second day of their first four-day game against Bangladesh A in Cox's Bazar after getting into a strong position on the first day when they bowled the home side out for 112.

The Indian openers put together 283 runs, the second-highest opening stand ever for India A, against a bowling line-up that had four internationals - Taijul Islam, Khaled Ahmed, Mosaddek Hossain and Nayeem Hasan - and Rejaur Rahman Raja, who has been knocking on the door of the national team.

Jaiswal and Abhimanyu mixed rock-solid defence with enterprising stroke play during their association, which lasted almost 77 overs. They struck 31 fours and two sixes between them, scoring at an even 3.7 for more than three sessions.

Perhaps a break in the 75th over - there was a fire nearby - broke their rhythm, as Jaiswal fell lbw to Taijul not long after. He made 145 off 226 balls, being the slightly more aggressive batter of the two, hitting 20 fours and a six.

Abhimanyu, the Indian captain followed Jaiswal shortly afterwards, caught behind off Khaled for 142, having batted for 255 balls and hitting 11 fours and a six.

As it happens often after a very big opening stand, the rest of the batters struggled to get going. Yash Dhull and Sarfaraz Khan got out in the 20s, while Tilak Varma, who retired hurt on 15 before coming out again, ended the day unbeaten on 26 and Upendra Yadav had 27.

For the Bangladesh side, Taijul took 3 for 148 from 43 overs, while Khaled took 2 for 71 from his 20. There was, however, no reward for Nayeem, who bowled 32 overs.

Bangladesh A 3rd innings Partnerships

1st71Zakir HasanMahmudul Hasan Joy
2nd148Najmul Hossain ShantoZakir Hasan
3rd30Mominul HaqueZakir Hasan
4th17Mohammad MithunZakir Hasan
5th51Zakir HasanJaker Ali
6th1Mosaddek HossainZakir Hasan
7th4Taijul IslamZakir Hasan
8th13Zakir HasanNayeem Hasan
9th5Nayeem HasanRejaur Rahman
10th1Khaled AhmedRejaur Rahman