T20 World Cup 2024 FAQs: Timings, venues and more

The Men's T20 World Cup trophy in display at the Central Broward Stadium AFP/Getty Images

When is the T20 World Cup 2024 scheduled to take place?

The 2024 T20 World Cup will begin on June 1 (7.30pm local time), with co-hosts USA taking on Canada in the first game and will run till June 29. The first match will be held at Grand Prairie Stadium in Dallas while the final will be played in Bridgetown in Barbados.

Here's the full T20 World Cup 2024 schedule.

Where will the T20 World Cup 2024 be held?

The West Indies and the USA will co-host the T20 World Cup. This will be the first time that USA will play host to a major ICC tournament. West Indies have hosted two men's World Cups before - one 50-over edition in 2007 and a T20 World Cup in 2010. Two women's T20 World Cups have also been held in the Caribbean.

And what are the venues where the T20 World Cup 2024 matches will be played?

The 2024 T20 World Cup will be played across nine venues. Apart from Dallas and Bridgetown, there will be matches in Providence, New York, Lauderhill, North Sound, Gros Islet, Kingstown and Tarouba.

Which teams are participating in the T20 World Cup 2024?

There are 20 T20 World Cup teams this year, the most in the history of the tournament. Apart from the hosts West Indies and USA, the eight best-placed teams from the 2022 edition also gained automatic qualification - England, Pakistan, India, New Zealand, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Australia and Netherlands. Afghanistan and Bangladesh also gained automatic qualification through their place in the men's T20I team rankings.

Ireland and Scotland made it through the European qualifier, while Canada won the Americas qualifier. Nepal and Oman progressed from the Asia qualifier, while Namibia and Uganda were the two qualifying teams from Africa. Papua New Guinea won the East Asia-Pacific qualifier.

What is the format for the T20 World Cup 2024?

The 20 teams have been divided into four groups of five teams each. These are the groups . Each team plays each other once with the top two sides from each group making it to the Super Eight stage, where there will be two groups of four teams each. The top two teams from these groups will progress to the semi-final.

Super Eights: how will the teams be grouped and seeded?

Eight teams have been allotted pre-decided seedings that they will retain for the Super Eight stage, provided they qualify. These teams, and their seedings, are:

A1 - India, A2 - Pakistan
B1 - England, B2 - Australia
C1 - New Zealand, C2 - West Indies
D1 - South Africa, D2 - Sri Lanka

The seedings for the other teams are not fixed. To understand it further, if D1 and D2 qualify from group D, and D2 top the group, D2 will not be given the D1 slot in the Super Eight stage despite topping the group. They will continue with the pre-decided fixtures in Super Eight that have been scheduled for D2.

But if, say, D3 or D4 qualify in place of, say, D1, the qualified team will replace D1 in the Super Eight.

If D3 and D4 both qualify, then the group topper will play D1's fixtures and the team that finishes second will be allotted D2's matches.

Once the eight teams are known, they will be grouped into Super Eight as follows:

Group 1: A1, B2, C1, D2
Group 2: A2, B1, C2, D1

The fixtures for the Super Eight stage, starting June 19, are already listed with the teams' seedings. No points will be carried forward from the first round to the second.

What happens if a match ends in a tie?

A Super Over will decide every tied match, and if that ends in a tie, there will be another Super Over and so on until a result is achieved.

And how are matches decided if the weather plays spoilsport?

In case of rain or bad weather in the group stage and Super Eight matches, each team will have to be able to bat at least five overs for a result to be declared. However, as was the case in the previous edition, the two semi-finals and the final will need each team to be able to bat a minimum of ten overs for a result to be possible.

What about the knockout matches, then?

The first semi-final and the final have reserve days but the second semi-final doesn't, as there is only a day's gap between that match and the final.

A total of 250 minutes of additional time is available for each semi-final. The first semi-final, on June 26, will have an extra 60 minutes at the end of the day's play and a further 190 minutes the next day on June, starting from 2pm local time. The second semi-final, on June 27, will have 250 minutes available on the scheduled day since it doesn't have a reserve day.

The final has a reserve day on June 30, with the hours of play scheduled for 10.30am local time, and a maximum of 190 minutes extra on both days.

In case of the first semi-final and the final, if the match is shortened (say, to ten overs per side) and it starts on the scheduled day but cannot be completed that day because of weather interruptions, it will resume on the reserve day as the same shortened game from where play was abandoned on the previous day.

India will play the second semi-final should they reach the knockouts.

What happens if the semi-finals and/or final are abandoned?

If weather conditions do not allow a semi-final to be completed, the team that finished first in their group in the Super Eight stage will progress to the final. The same rule will be applicable if the Super Over after a tied semi-final is also not possible because of poor weather.

If the final (or the Super Over after a tied final) is abandoned because of poor weather, the two teams will be declared joint winners.

Which teams have previously won the men's T20 World Cup?

Seven teams have previously won the men's T20 World Cup. India won the inaugural edition in 2007, while West Indies and England are the only teams to win it twice. England are also the defending champions.

Here is the full list of winners:

2007 - India
2009 - Pakistan
2010 - England
2012 - West Indies
2014 - Sri Lanka
2016 - West Indies
2021 - Australia
2022 - England

How can I follow live scores and updates for the T20 World Cup 2024?

Apart from the various TV channels and streaming sites that will broadcast the T20 World Cup live, you can follow ball-by-ball action on ESPNcricinfo. You can also keep a tab of the matches on our live scores page.

Where can I watch the T20 World Cup 2024 live?

The T20 World Cup can be followed live in the following places around the world:

India - Star Sports Network and Disney+ Hotstar*
Pakistan - PTV and Ten Sports
USA and Canada - WillowTV
West Indies - ESPN Caribbean and ESPN Play Caribbean app
England - Sky Sports and digitally via the SkyGO, NOW and Sky Sports App
Australia and New Zealand - Prime Video in Australia and Sky Sport NZ in New Zealand
South Africa, Uganda, and Namibia - SuperSport and its app
UAE and the entire MENA region - STARZPLAY, with broadcast coverage on CricLife MAX and CricLife MAX2 in the UAE
Sri Lanka - Maharaja TV

*ESPNcricinfo and Disney Star are part of the Walt Disney Company.