Championship field set for 2017 Maui Invitational

Fans of California, LSU, Marquette, Michigan, Notre Dame, VCU and Wichita State: You now have an excuse to go to Hawaii in November.

Those seven teams will join host Chaminade in the 2017 Maui Jim Maui Invitational field's championship round, event organizers announced Thursday. The marquee early-season tournament traces its origins to Chaminade's fabled 1982 upset of Ralph Sampson-led Virginia.

The 2016 event will bring UConn, Georgetown, North Carolina, Oklahoma State, Oregon, Tennessee and Wisconsin to the island.

And this year's tournament, which starts Nov. 23, will see Indiana, Kansas, St. John's, UCLA, UNLV, Vanderbilt, and Wake Forest tip the championship round at the Lahaina Civic Center on Maui.

All three years of the tournament will be broadcast by ESPN.