Whiteley new Springboks captain with eight uncapped players called up

Habana: You have to beat the best at a World Cup (1:37)

Bryan Habana spoke about South Africa's draw ahead of the 2019 Rugby World Cup. (1:37)

Springboks head coach Allister Coetzee has named Warren Whiteley as the new Boks captain as he called up eight uncapped players for their June Test series against France.

Lukhanyo Am, Andries Coetzee, Ross Cronje, Dillyn Leyds, Raymond Rhule, Courtnall Skosan, Ruan Dreyer and Lizo Gqoboka have all been added while there are recalls for Frans Steyn. Jan Serfontein, Francois Hougaard, Duane Vermeulen, Coonie Oosthuizen and Chiliboy Ralepelle.

In naming his squad, Coetzee added that the national selectors rewarded form, but a number of players were also not considered due to injury.

Whiteley replaces Adriaan Strauss as Springboks skipper. "Warren has been one of the outstanding leaders in South African rugby for many years," said Coetzee.

"He is respected by his team-mates and opposition alike and has a lot of experience when it comes to captaincy, having led the Emirates Lions with great authority for many seasons. He is resilient, copes well under pressure and makes good decisions."

Flyhalf Pat Lambie is still symptomatic following his concussion and was not considered due to injury. He is joined by Francois Louw [Bath], Marcell Coetzee [Ulster], Handré Pollard [Bulls], Jean-Luc du Plessis [Stormers] and Rohan Janse van Rensburg [Lions] on the sideline.

South Africa face France on June 10 at Pretoria and will then tackle Les Bleus in Durban on June 17 and Johannesburg on June 24.

South Africa:


Lood de Jager, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Ruan Dreyer, Eben Etzebeth, Steven Kitshoff, Siya Kolisi, Jaco Kriel, Frans Malherbe, Malcolm Marx, Bongi Mbonambi, Oupa Mohoje, Franco Mostert, Tendai Mtawarira, Lizo Gqoboka, Coenie Oosthuizen, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Duane Vermeulen, Warren Whiteley.


Lukhanyo Am, Andries Coetzee, Ross Cronje, Damian De Allende, Francois Hougaard, Elton Jantjies, Jesse Kriel, Dillyn Leyds, Rudy Paige, Raymond Rhule, Jan Serfontein, Courtnall Skosan, Frans Steyn.