Springboks' Jasper Wiese escapes further sanction for Samu Kerevi cleanout

Jasper Wiese leaves the field after he was sin-binned for dangerous play during South Africa's Rugby Championship loss to Australia in Brisbane, September 18, 2021 Albert Perez/Getty Images

South Africa loose forward Jasper Wiese has been found not guilty of foul play after being cited following the 30-17 Rugby Championship defeat by Australia at the weekend, but will not feature against New Zealand on Saturday.

Wiese, who was yellow carded late in the game in Brisbane for an illegal clear-out of Samu Kerevi, had already been left out of the Springboks line-up for the clash against the All Blacks at Townsville because his disciplinary hearing was delayed for unspecified reasons by SANZAAR.

Springbok coach Jacques Nienaber said earlier on Tuesday the No. 8 would not be selected while there was uncertainty over the outcome of his hearing, and expressed frustration that the matter had dragged past Monday with no explanation.

In the end, the SANZAAR hearing found that Wiese had "not committed an act of foul play worthy of the red card threshold" but agreed the referee was right to have sent him to the sin bin.

"Whilst the Australian player was vulnerable, the contact with the head was not intentional or highly reckless. Weise was shown to be grabbing for the ball rather than targeting the head of the Australian player," a SANZAAR statement said.