Captain Luke Young among eight players released by Wrexham

First-team captain Luke Young and club captain Ben Tozer have been released by Wrexham in a flurry of moves announced by the club on Friday.

Also departing the club will be long-time goalkeeper Rob Lainton, defenders Aaron Hayden, Jordan Tunnicliffe and Callum McFadzean, along with Owen Cushion and Dan Davies.

"I'd like to thank all the players for their efforts over the last few years. They've all played a part in our success and I'd like to wish them all the best for the future," manager Phil Parkinson said.

"The professionalism shown by all the lads has been excellent, and likewise those who have not been playing as regularly still play an important part with their attitudes and standards off the pitch.

"Ben Tozer and Luke Young have not had as much game time in the last few months, but as club captain and first-team captain they have showed great leadership for the Club.

"All the players leaving the Club go with our very grateful thanks for their efforts and contributions during their time at Wrexham."

The club also announced that James McClean's contract has been automatically renewed, while offers will be made to Steven Fletcher, Mark Howard and Aaron James.

A decision will be made on Scott Butler's future following the conclusion of his loan spell at Marine FC.

Wrexham recently secured its second consecutive promotion to EFL League One from the National League.

Fleur Robinson, who has served as the club's chief executive officers for the past three years, will also be departing at the conclusion of the season.

"It has been a privilege to lead Wrexham as CEO for past three years," Robinson said in a statement. "I am proud that I leave the club in a much better position on and off the pitch than when I arrived."