Jake Brimmer, Fiona Worts pick up A-League best player awards

Melbourne Victory midfielder Jake Brimmer has claimed the Johnny Warren Medal as the A-League Men's best player, while Adelaide's Fiona Worts won the Julie Dolan Medal for her prolific A-League Women's campaign.

Brimmer, who shared the Mark Viduka Medal with Central Coast's Kye Rowles following Victory's FFA Cup final win over the Mariners in February, finished a clear winner on 32 votes.

Brisbane Roar's Jay O'Shea (25) and Adelaide United's Craig Goodwin (24) finished second and third on the medal count.

- Don't have ESPN? Get instant access

Newcastle's playmaker Daniel Penha and last year's joint winner, Macarthur FC captain Ulises Davila, rounded out the top five, finishing level on 23 votes.

It's the third time a Victory player has won the prize after Carlos Hernandez (2010) and Marco Rojas (2013).

In his second season with Victory following a move from Perth Glory, Brimmer scored seven goals as new coach Tony Popovic guided the team to a second-place finish.

For the club's dramatic transformation under him, Popovic was named men's Coach of the Year with Newcastle's Angus Thurgate announced as Young Men's Player of the Year.

Western United defender Ben Garuccio's remarkable scorpion kick finish in February against Western Sydney was unsurprisingly named Men's Goal of the Year.

ALW golden boot winner Worts won the voting in the Julie Dolan Medal by a single vote with Brisbane Roar's midfielder Katrina Gorry coming second.

The English striker, who scored 13 goals in 14 games for the Reds, tallied 18 votes to Gorry's 17 as the Matildas' midfielder made a successful comeback to the game after taking time out for the birth of her daughter Harper.

Melbourne City's Holly McNamara and Sydney FC's Mackenzie Hawkesby finished tied on 15 votes with fellow Sky Blue Cortnee Vine rounding out the top five on 14 votes.

McNamara was named Young Player of the Year while Sydney's Rachel Lowe won Goal of the Year. Adelaide's Adrian Stenta was named Women's Coach of the Year after guiding the Reds to their maiden finals campaign.

In other awards announced on Friday night, Socceroos midfielder Tom Rogic won the Men's PFA Player of the Year with Denis Genreau named Men's PFA Young Player of the Year.

Matildas superstar Sam Kerr was named Women's PFA Player of the Year with Mary Fowler winning the young player prize.