Ireland's Lowe to make Six Nations debut at Wales with Larmour on the bench

James Lowe has been picked ahead of Jordan Larmour who has 24 caps for Ireland. Photo by Mike Hewitt/Getty Images

Andy Farrell has handed winger James Lowe his Six Nations debut, picking him over Jordan Larmour, as he announced his team to face Wales in the Principality Stadium on Sunday on the Six Nations.

Johnny Sexton has recovered from an injury to captain the side in his 12th Six Nations tournament and will be joined in the half-backs by Conor Murray.

- Play ESPN's Rugby Pick'em for FREE

Garry Ringrose makes his return to an Ireland jersey after breaking his jaw and being unable to compete in the Autumn Nations Cup and is partnered by Robbie Henshaw.

Leinster's Hugo Keenan will line out at full-back with support from Keth Earls and Lowe on the wings.

Sunday will be Cian Healy's 50th Six Nations appearance as he lines out in the front-row alongside Rob Herring and Andrew Porter.

Locks Tadhg Beirne and James Porter have been listed by Farrell and the back-row is made up of Peter O'Mahony, Josh van der Flier and CJ Stander.

Tadhg Furlong, who missed 11 months of rugby through injury, is listed on the bench.

When asked if he thought Wales would be an easy match, Farrell rejected the idea.

"I don't believe it for one second," he told a news conference on Friday.

"Look, the boys are very familiar with everyone who is in the Welsh squad. They play against them all of the time. We know what top performers they can be when they are under pressure. They are an experienced side, who have been in both good, and difficult, positions before.

"Within the two camps, we know the truth. That it is going to be a war of attrition. We have not won there since 2013 which says a lot and we are expecting Wales to be 100% at their best. We have played them at their best before and come unstuck. So we will plan accordingly.

"It doesn't really matter what goes on in the papers, or in the news, in the coming days the game will still be the same. Both teams will kick off, try and get into the ascendancy, try and get a foothold in the game, through the areas that does that for them, set-piece, physicality or line-speed. Once that whistle goes, the game is just the same. It means a lot to both sides. It will be a tough old battle."

Ireland team

Hugo Keenan, Keith Earls, Garry Ringrose, Robbie Henshaw, James Lowe, Jonathan Sexton (captain), Conor Murray, Cian Healy, Rob Herring, Andrew Porter, Tadhg Beirne, James Ryan, Peter O'Mahony, Josh van der Flier.

Replacements: Ronan Kelleher, Dave Kilcoyne, Tadhg Furlong, Iain Henderson, Will Connors, Jamison Gibson Park, Billy Burns, Jordan Larmour.