Stanley Cup playoffs 2024: Picks for NHL conference finals

The 2024 Stanley Cup playoffs field is down to four teams. The New York Rangers will take on the Florida Panthers in the Eastern Conference finals, with Game 1 slated for Wednesday night (8 ET, ESPN/ESPN+).

Meanwhile, the Dallas Stars square off against the Edmonton Oilers in the Western Conference finals, with Game 1 on Thursday (8:30 p.m. ET, TNT).

Who will win each series, taking the next step toward the Cup? Our ESPN hockey experts make their predictions.

More: Playoff schedule
Updated bracket
Conference finals preview
Offseason keys for ousted teams


M1 New York


A1 Florida

Sean Allen: Panthers in six
Blake Bolden: Panthers in six
John Buccigross: Panthers in seven
Ryan Callahan: Rangers in seven
Cassie Campbell-Pascall: Panthers in seven
Sachin Chandan: Rangers in seven
Ryan S. Clark: Panthers in seven
Linda Cohn: Rangers in seven
Ray Ferraro: Rangers in seven
Emily Kaplan: Rangers in seven
Tim Kavanagh: Rangers in seven
Hilary Knight: Rangers in seven
Peter Lawrence-Riddell: Panthers in seven
Steve Levy: Rangers in seven
Vince Masi: Panthers in seven
Victoria Matiash: Panthers in seven
Sean McDonough: Rangers in seven
Mark Messier: Rangers in seven
AJ Mleczko: Panthers in seven
Mike Monaco: Panthers in six
Arda Öcal: Rangers in six
Kristen Shilton: Panthers in seven
P.K. Subban: Rangers in seven
Bob Wischusen: Rangers in seven
Greg Wyshynski: Panthers in six

Consensus pick: Rangers (13 out of 25 picks)


C1 Dallas


P2 Edmonton

Sean Allen: Stars in six
John Buccigross: Stars in seven
Ryan Callahan: Stars in six
Cassie Campbell-Pascall: Stars in six
Sachin Chandan: Stars in six
Ryan S. Clark: Stars in seven
Linda Cohn: Stars in six
Ray Ferraro: Stars in six
Emily Kaplan: Stars in seven
Tim Kavanagh: Stars in six
Hilary Knight: Stars in six
Peter Lawrence-Riddell: Stars in six
Steve Levy: Stars in six
Vince Masi: Oilers in seven
Victoria Matiash: Stars in six
Sean McDonough: Stars in six
Mark Messier: Oilers in seven
AJ Mleczko: Stars in seven
Mike Monaco: Stars in seven
Arda Öcal: Oilers in six
Kristen Shilton: Stars in six
P.K. Subban: Stars in six
Bob Wischusen: Oilers in seven
Greg Wyshynski: Oilers in six

Consensus pick: Stars (19 of 24 picks)