Oregon's Sabrina Ionescu headlines 15 finalists for Wooden Award

Ionescu notches 57th career double-double (1:32)

Sabrina Ionescu scores a game-high 19 points and grabs 11 rebounds as Oregon advances to the Pac-12 semifinals. (1:32)

Oregon guard Sabrina Ionescu is becoming a familiar name on the John R. Wooden Award national ballot.

Ionescu, the reigning winner, headlines this season's list of 15 finalists for the award that is given annually to the most outstanding player in women's college basketball. Ionescu is the only player among this season's finalists who has been on the national ballot in each of the past three seasons.

The 5-foot-11 senior recently became the first player to win Pac-12 Player of the Year three times.

Texas A&M junior Chennedy Carter and Maryland junior Kaila Charles are the other Wooden finalists who also appeared on the national ballot last season.

Ionescu was the only Oregon player on the list the previous two seasons, but she is joined this season by teammates Ruthy Hebard and Satou Sabally. A 6-4 senior, Hebard entered the Pac-12 tournament as Oregon's leading scorer, while the 6-4 Sabally close on her heels.

Oregon's trio leads a contingent of six finalists from the Pac-12, the most from any conference. Arizona junior Aari McDonald, UCLA junior Michaela Onyenwere and Oregon State senior Mikayla Pivec are the other Pac-12 players on the ballot.

Top-ranked South Carolina, with senior Tyasha Harris and freshman Aliyah Boston, is the only other team with multiple representatives. The 6-5 Boston entered the SEC tournament second in the conference in both blocks and rebounds per game and shooting better than 60%, while the 5-10 Harris led the league in assists per game and assist-to-turnover ratio.

One of two sophomores included, Kentucky guard Rhyne Howard is the leading scorer among finalists. She entered the SEC tournament averaging 23.6 points per game -- two points per game better than Texas A&M's Carter, the second-best scorer among the finalists.

Howard beat out Carter and the South Carolina duo for SEC Player of the Year earlier this week.

The remaining candidates are Baylor senior Lauren Cox, NC State sophomore Elissa Cunane, Louisville junior Dana Evans and UConn junior Megan Walker. Evans was recently named ACC Player of the Year, and Walker won American Athletic Conference Player of the Year.

The winner of the Wooden Award will be announced during the ESPN College Basketball Awards on April 10.

Ionescu is seeking to become the sixth women's player to win the Wooden Award multiple times, joining Seimone Augustus, Brittney Griner, Maya Moore, Candace Parker and Breanna Stewart.

  • Aliyah Boston, South Carolina (6-5, Fr., F)

  • Chennedy Carter, Texas A&M (5-7, Jr., G)

  • Kaila Charles, Maryland (6-1, Sr., G)

  • Lauren Cox, Baylor (6-4, Sr., F)

  • Elissa Cunane, NC State (6-5, So., C)

  • Dana Evans, Louisville (5-6, Jr., G)

  • Tyasha Harris, South Carolina (5-10, Sr., G)

  • Ruthy Hebard, Oregon (6-4, Sr., F)

  • Rhyne Howard, Kentucky (6-2, So., G)

  • Sabrina Ionescu, Oregon (5-11, Sr., G)

  • Aari McDonald, Arizona (5-6, Jr., G)

  • Michaela Onyenwere, UCLA (6-0, Jr., F)

  • Mikayla Pivec, Oregon State (5-10, Sr., G)

  • Satou Sabally, Oregon (6-4, Jr., F)

  • Megan Walker, UConn (6-1, Jr., F)