Champions Lion City Sailors dominate Singapore's AFF Suzuki Cup squad

Recently-crowned Singapore Premier League champions Lion City Sailors have 14 players called up by Lions coach Tatsuma Yoshida in his 28-man squad for the upcoming AFF Suzuki Cup. Football Association of Singapore

Singapore will be looking to replicate the recent success of Lion City Sailors, with half of the Lions' 28-man squad for the upcoming AFF Suzuki Cup hailing from the newly-crowned domestic champions.

Lion City became the first local side in seven years to win the Singapore Premier League earlier this season, after they pipped last year's winners Albirex Niigata (S) to the title on the final day of the campaign.

- Azkals call up 27 for Suzuki Cup including new man Maranon
- Big guns Chanathip, Kawin headline Thailand's AFF quest

And 14 of their players, including star names Hassan Sunny, Shahdan Sulaiman and Gabriel Quak, have now been rewarded with a call-up to Singapore's squad for the Suzuki Cup, which they will host starting Dec. 5.

Singapore coach Tatsuma Yoshida will also be with the services of Norway-based star striker Ikhsan Fandi, who will be allowed by his club Jerv even though the tournament does not fall in the FIFA international window, meaning teams are not obliged to release their players.

The Lions also boast four others currently plying their trade abroad, including centre-backs Safuwan Baharudin and Irfan Fandi of Selangor and BG Pathum United respectively.

Yoshida will have a wealth of experience to call upon with the likes of captain Hariss Harun, Safuwan, Hassan and Shahdan all boasting over 60 caps to their names, while recently-naturalised South Korean-born midfielder Song Ui-young will also have his first taste of international competition.

However, Yoshida will also have a handful of youthful options to call upon, including 2021 SPL Young Player of the Year Nur Adam Abdullah of the Sailors, as well as prodigious striker Ilhan Fandi, younger brother of Irfan and Ikhsan.

Singapore squad for AFF Suzuki Cup 2020

Goalkeepers: Izwan Mahbud (Hougang United), Syazwan Buhari (Tampines Rovers), Hassan Sunny (Lion City Sailors), Zharfan Rohaizad (Tanjong Pagar United)

Defenders: Shakir Hamzah (Tanjong Pagar United), Nazrul Nazari (Hougang United), Amirul Adli, Zulqarnaen Suzliman, Nur Adam Abdullah, Tajeli Salamat, Iqram Rifqi (Lion City Sailors), Irfan Fandi (BG Pathum United), Safuwan Baharudin (Selangor)

Midfielders: M. Anumanthan (Kedah Darul Aman), Adam Swandi, Shahdan Sulaiman, Hariss Harun, Hami Syahin, Song Ui-young, Saifullah Akbar (Lion City Sailors), Zulfahmi Arifin (Sukhothai)

Forwards: Ikhsan Fandi (Jerv), Faris Ramli, Hafiz Nor, Gabriel Quak (Lion City Sailors), Shawal Anuar (Hougang United), Ilhan Fandi (Young Lions), Geylang International