Michigan Wolverines star Aidan Hutchinson among Mayo Clinic Comeback Player semifinalists

Michigan pass-rusher Aidan Hutchinson, Notre Dame quarterback Jack Coan and Baylor linebacker Terrel Bernard were among nine college football players selected as semifinalists for the Mayo Clinic Comeback Player of the Year award.

The other semifinalists announced Thursday were West Virginia defensive lineman Taijh Alston; Johns Hopkins receiver Ryan Hubley; Florida State quarterback McKenzie Milton; Utah quarterback Cameron Rising; Stetson defensive lineman Avery Samuels; and Kentucky linebacker J.J. Weaver.

The winners of the Mayo Clinic Comeback Player of the Year are chosen by AP Top 25 poll voters, sports information directors and contributors to the magazine Touchdown Illustrated.

Three winners and six honorable mentions will be revealed Dec. 21, and donations of $30,000 will be made in their names to the general scholarship funds of each player's school.

The winners will be honored at the Fiesta Bowl on Jan. 1.

Hutchinson injured his ankle on the opening possession of Michigan's third game last season and missed the rest of the Big Ten's abbreviated campaign. He has returned this season to lead the Big Ten in sacks with 14½ and help Michigan reach the College Football Playoff for the first time.

Coan broke his foot before last season when he was with Wisconsin and never played a down. He transferred with Notre Dame in the offseason and has led the Irish to an 11-1 season, throwing 20 touchdown passes.

Bernard has been a mainstay on Baylor's defense after sustaining a season-ending shoulder injury in November 2020. He has 10½ tackles for loss, including 5½ sacks, for the Big 12 champion Bears.