Manchester City complete clean sweep of Premier League awards

Manchester City completed a clean sweep of the Premier League awards with defender Ruben Dias named Player of the Season, Pep Guardiola named Manager of the Season and Phil Foden named Young Player of the Season on Saturday.

Dias is the second Portuguese to receive the honour after former Manchester United forward Cristiano Ronaldo while Guardiola has won the managerial award for the third time.

- Stream FC Daily on ESPN+

Dias was named England's Footballer of the Year in the annual vote of the Football Writers' Association last month following a superb debut campaign after his move from Benfica.

Dias played a key role in delivering City's third Premier League title in four years as well as the Carabao Cup, and helped his side the Champions League final.

The 24-year-old was also named in the Professional Footballers' Association (PFA) Team of the Year.

Dias is the fourth defender to be voted Player of the Season by the public, the captains of the 20 Premier League clubs and a panel of experts after United's Nemanja Vidic, former City captain Vincent Kompany and Liverpool's Virgil van Dijk.

His compatriot and former United forward Ronaldo won the award in 2006-07 and 2007-08.

Other nominees for the award this season included Kevin De Bruyne, Bruno Fernandes, Jack Grealish, Harry Kane, Mason Mount, Mohamed Salah and Tomas Soucek.

In 28 appearances, Foden scored nine goals and provided five assists, establishing himself as a standout player in Guardiola's title-winning side.

The 21-year-old is only the second player to win the award after Liverpool's Trent Alexander-Arnold took the prize last year.

Guardiola won the manager's award in 2017-18 and again in 2018-19 when he led City to consecutive league titles.

Under him, City conceded the fewest goals (32) this season and kept clean sheets in half of their games (19) to finish 12 points clear of second-placed United.

Guardiola won the award ahead of fellow nominees Marcelo Bielsa (Leeds United), David Moyes (West Ham United), Brendan Rodgers (Leicester City) and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer (United).