Russia's Alan Dzagoev ruled out of Euro 2016 with broken metatarsal

Russia midfielder Alan Dzagoev will miss the European Championship with a broken bone in his foot, deepening his country's injury problems.

Dzagoev, 25, has played 49 times for Russia and was seen as a key player in Group B games against England, Slovakia and Wales at Euro 2016.

Dzagoev was removed from the Russian squad on Sunday, with the Russian Football Union announcing that he broke a metatarsal bone while helping CSKA Moscow win the Russian title on Saturday.

Winger Dmitry Torbinsky from FC Krasnodar has been called up in his place.

Dzagoev played eight times for Russia in qualifying and joins a growing injury list. Coach Leonid Slutsky was already without Real Madrid midfielder Denis Cheryshev, who injured his thigh on loan at Valencia, wing-back Yuri Zhirkov and full-back Oleg Kuzmin.

Russia had already named Roman Neustadter in the squad despite the Ukraine-born Schalke defender not yet holding a Russian passport.

Neustadter, who has played for Germany in non-competitive senior internationals, hopes to secure Russian citizenship shortly and that FIFA will allow him to switch allegiances.

Provisional 28-man Russia squad for Euro 2016

Goalkeepers: Igor Akinfeev (CSKA Moscow), Guilherme (Lokomotiv Moscow), Yuri Lodygin (Zenit St Petersburg)

Defenders: Alexei Berezutski (CSKA Moscow), Vasili Berezutski (CSKA Moscow), Sergei Ignashevich (CSKA Moscow), Dmitri Kombarov (Spartak Moscow), Roman Neustadter (Schalke 04), Georgi Schennikov (CSKA Moscow), Roman Shishkin (Lokomotiv Moscow), Igor Smolnikov (Zenit)

Midfielders: Igor Denisov (Dynamo Moscow), Denis Glushakov (Spartak Moscow), Alexander Golovin (CSKA Moscow), Oleg Ivanov (Terek Grozny), Pavel Mamaev (Krasnodar), Alexander Samedov (Lokomotiv Moscow), Oleg Shatov (Zenit St Petersburg), Roman Shirokov (CSKA Moscow), Dmitry Torbinsky (Krasnodar)

Forwards: Artem Dzyuba (Zenit St Petersburg), Alexander Kokorin (Zenit St Petersburg), Fedor Smolov (Krasnodar)