Wales crowned 2019 Grand Slam champions with emphatic victory over holders Ireland

Hadleigh Parkes celebrates try as Wales clinch Six Nations title with win over Ireland. Photo by Stu Forster/Getty Images

Wales have clinched the 2019 Six Nations Grand Slam title after sealing an emphatic 25-7 victory over holders Ireland at the Principality Stadium.

Going into the penultimate round of the competition, Wales led England by a point and knew victory over the Irish would secure their first Six Nations title since 2012.

Hadleigh Parkes opened the scoring inside two minutes and Gareth Anscombe kicked 20 points for Wales who extended their national record breaking winning run to 14 consecutive Test matches.

Wales have now secured their 12th Grand Slam -- their fourth of the Six Nations era -- and their third title under head coach Warren Gatland who is leaving his position after this year's World Cup in Japan.

With Wales earning three points as Grand Slam winners, England cannot overtake them in the late kickoff against Scotland in the Calcutta Cup at Twickenham.