Current and all-time UFC champions

Ilia Topuria claimed the men's featherweight belt at UFC 298. Chris Unger/Zuffa LLC via Getty Images

The UFC began in 1993 with fighters of all sizes competing against each other. Four years later, UFC 12 introduced weight classes: heavyweight, for fighters 200 pounds and above, and lightweight, for those 199 pounds and under. That night in Dothan, Alabama, Mark Coleman needed less than three minutes to defeat Dan Severn by a neck crank to becomes the promotion's first heavyweight champion -- its first champion, period.

Today, there 12 weight divisions in the UFC -- eight for men, four for women. Below are the current UFC champions in each weight division.

Click here for the current champions in all of the major fight promotions: Bellator MMA, One Championship, PFL, Rizin and Invicta FC, in addition to the UFC.

All-time UFC champions by division:
Heavyweight | Light heavyweight
Middleweight | Welterweight
Lightweight | Men's featherweight
Men's bantamweight | Men's flyweight
Women's featherweight
Women's bantamweight
Women's flyweight

Heavyweight (Up to 265 pounds)

Jon Jones
Won title: March 4, 2023
Outcome: Sub1 over Ciryl Gane (UFC 285)
Defenses: 0
Interim champion: Tom Aspinall (UFC 295)

Light heavyweight (205)

Alex Pereira
Won title: Nov. 11, 2023
Outcome: TKO2 over Jirí Procházka (UFC 295)
Defenses: 2

Middleweight (185)

Dricus Du Plessis
Won title: Jan. 20, 2024
Outcome: SD over Sean Strickland (UFC 297)
Defenses: 0

Welterweight (170)

Leon Edwards
Won title: Aug. 20, 2022
Outcome: KO5 over Kamaru Usman (UFC 278)
Defenses: 2

Lightweight (155)

Islam Makhachev
Won title: Oct. 22, 2022
Outcome: Sub2 over Charles Oliveira (UFC 280)
Defenses: 3

Men's featherweight (145)

Ilia Topuria
Won title: Feb. 17, 2024
Outcome: KO2 over Alexander Volkanovski (UFC 298)
Defenses: 0

Men's bantamweight (135)

Sean O'Malley
Won title: Aug. 19, 2023
Outcome: TKO2 over Aljamain Sterling (UFC 292)
Defenses: 1

Men's flyweight (125)

Alexandre Pantoja
Won title: July 8, 2023
Outcome: SD over Brandon Moreno (UFC 290)
Defenses: 2

Women's featherweight (145)

Title is vacant

Women's bantamweight (135)

Raquel Pennington
Won title: Jan. 20, 2024
Outcome: UD over Mayra Bueno Silva (UFC 297)
Defenses: 0

Women's flyweight (125)

Alexa Grasso
Won title: March 4, 2023
Outcome: Sub4 over Valentina Shevchenko (UFC 285)
Defenses: 1

Strawweight (115)

Zhang Weili
Won title: Nov. 12, 2022
Outcome: Sub2 over Carla Esparza (UFC 281)
Defenses: 2